One Stop Eats

healthy food. recipes. reviews.

Spinach Pesto Pasta

Pesto usually means basil, pine nuts et all….. but I didn’t have any of those. I had some spinach! Mmmm…. I thought, “that could work”…… and some almonds…. “hmm, that could work too”…….. after putting it together I was rather impressed. :p Ummm…… I threw modesty out the window ages ago. Here’s what I did…. Go ahead, try it out and I can promise you will impress yourself too.

Spinach Pesto Pasta

Spinach Pesto Pasta

Spinach Pesto Pasta

Ingredients to Serve 4

  • 8 ounces of spaghetti
  • 1 small bunch spinach
  • 4 sun dried tomato slices (optional)
  • 12 sprigs cilantro
  • 1/4 cup almonds
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon dried basil
  • 1/4 cup parmesan cheese, grated
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/8 teaspoon black pepper powder
  • Salt to taste

Clean the spinach and cilantro of dirt and thick stems. You don’t need to chop them.

Heat the olive oil in a skillet.

When it’s heated, add the garlic and the almonds.

As soon as the garlic looks a little pinkish, add the spinach, sun dried tomatoes and cilantro.

It’ll take just a minute or so for the spinach to wilt. Once it does, add the salt and let the spinach weep. It’ll give out a lot of liquid. This should take about 4-5 minutes.

Add the basil, black pepper powder and the cheese.

Give this a quick toss, take it off the heat and transfer it to a blender.

Blend all of this well. If it’s too dry add some water and olive oil. The pesto sauce is ready.

Cook the spaghetti as per the directions on the packet.

Add the sauce to the spaghetti, serve and enjoy!

For garnish: The options are many, couple of almonds, a pinch of parmesan, cilantro, basil, almost anything.

Note: I used almonds, but peanuts, walnuts, obviously pine nuts or no nuts at all, taste great too.

7 comments on “Spinach Pesto Pasta

  1. Namrata
    April 12, 2009

    Looks great, Meenakshi. Will definitely give this a try.

  2. Namrata
    April 21, 2009

    Ok, So I finally gave this a try last night. It didn’t look as gorgeous as your presentation. 🙂
    Flavor wise it was good, but it turned out quite dry and sticky. I guessed it was because I added a lot of cheese and less oil. So this morning (had the leftovers was lunch), I drizzled some more olive oil on it and that made it taste and feel much better. So thanks for the recipe. I will definitely be making this more often. Is super easy. And cheaper too, since fresh basil can be expensive.

    • Meenakshi Matai
      April 22, 2009

      After you put the salt in the spinach, did it weep? Usually mine gives out a lot of liquid which makes the sauce wet, preventing the dish from being sticky.
      I’m glad you liked the taste. 🙂

  3. Namrata
    April 24, 2009

    Oh, I don’t think I sauteed the spinach for long, just enough for it start wilting. And I think I added salt much later. Am sure I will get it right next time. Will be trying it again soon.

    • Meenakshi Matai
      April 25, 2009

      I just edited the recipe and added the fact that you should let the spinach weep, after adding the salt. I hope that will help. Thank you so much for posting your feedback.

  4. ItalianRestaurants
    May 4, 2009

    Looks delicious! Italian restaurants offer great dishes!

  5. Pingback: Spinach Soup « One Stop Eats

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 10, 2009 by in Cuisine, Italian, Main Course, Recipes, Vegetarian and tagged , , , .

Categories

