One Stop Eats

healthy food. recipes. reviews.

Homemade Polenta and Eggplant Tapenade

Polenta has become my friend, J’s, and my new must have. Instead of having the store bought ones, we’ve started making our own and are thoroughly enjoying it. I make polenta with Mr. Brown, Alton Brown’s, recipe and it comes out delicious. What’s more, it goes really well with Eggplant Tapenade, the recipe for which comes from the well-known Vegetarian Times cookbook. The book was gifted to my husband by his Mom when he told her he wanted to marry me, a vegetarian. 🙂 Hehehheehh! MIL wants him to cook for me and that too good food! Yayyyyy MIL!!! 🙂 It’s been three years (I think) and we have cooked a lot of food using recipes from the book and have loved them all.

Homemade Polenta with Eggplant Tapenade

Homemade Polenta with Eggplant Tapenade

Homemade Polenta

Used Alton Brown’s recipe for this. Here it is: Polenta Recipe.

Being a vegetarian, I substituted chicken broth with organic no-chicken veggie broth. Otherwise followed the recipe as it is and it came out delicious. I put it in a cake pan, like he says and let it cool. It firmed up pretty well and I cut out little pieces. Very filling!

Eggplant Tapenade

Used the recipe from Vegetarian Times.

I doubt I can post the recipe here from the book, but it required cooking the eggplant with onions, herbs and tomatoes.

Topped the polenta with tapenade, used baby tomatoes for garnish and enjoyed. Delicious!

One comment on “Homemade Polenta and Eggplant Tapenade

  1. JK
    May 6, 2009

    This Polenta recipe looks FABULOUS!! Can’t wait to try it…you’re the best, my friend!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 5, 2009 by in Appetizers, Cuisine, Extra healthy, Italian, Main Course, Recipes, Snack, Vegetarian and tagged , .

Categories

