One Stop Eats

healthy food. recipes. reviews.

Ready-to-Eat Food, Veetee

Daal makhani with rice

Daal makhani with rice

The reason I haven’t posted is that I haven’t felt like cooking. But I still have to eat! Some of the time, I’ve been eating ready-to-eat stuff. One of those things is Veetee‘s ready-to-eat foods.

I know what you’re saying “How is ready-to-eat stuff worth writing about?”. So here’s the deal. I don’t really like to eat prefab food, but these are kinda nice. Everything Veetee makes (and some other companies as well) is vegetarian, does not have any preservatives (the spices act as preservatives), I can read (and understand) ALL the ingredients, and approximately $2 each! Just add rice and heat – you’re ready to eat.

I’ve tried quite a few of these things, and they’re all pretty good, though not uniformly so. The rule of thumb is to avoid things with large solid foods such as paneer, potatoes. The daal makhani and rajma masala are pretty good, and I’m willing to wager that anything with lentils is quite tasty. The other stuff isn’t bad, just not as good. Not bad is really that, not bad; I just had the paneer makhani this week.

At the price of a home-cooked meal you get a hot, reasonably healthy meal. Better than getting a quick $6 meal from the store. Stock up on these from any Indian store and it’ll be worth your while!

6 comments on “Ready-to-Eat Food, Veetee

  1. Wendy Green
    February 29, 2012

    I found VeeTee meals in a liquidator grocer in Oregon, USA. I bought all I could find because they are really really good, and quite inexpensive. I would love to find another outlet where I could purchase more.

  2. Dirty
    June 9, 2012

    I stumbled across these by accident at a a grocery outlet store in San Jose, CA. They only cost $1.09 each. When I was checking out, the clerk told me that a man bought a case of each flavor that they had because he said they were delicious. I can definitely say that I will be going back tomorrow to buy as much as I can. I had the Dal Makhani and I loved it. I was a bit leery at first because I have never just dropped a pouch into water before, I was sure I was making a mistake. I was pleasantly surprised. Consider me a fan.

  3. maximus929
    September 17, 2012

    This is the best “food-in-a-pouch” I’ve ever seen… wish I’d bought way more… now I need to find out where to get more!

  4. gary
    December 17, 2012

    Grocery Outlets in Oakland and Berkeley continue to have plenty of choices as well as Punjab Eggplant from Tastybite.
    I often put some carrots, peas, broccoli or other veggies in the microwave for a few minutes and ad them to a pouch for a great, fast and cheap lunch.

  5. Wilton Hart
    September 17, 2013

    I found them in Grocery Outlet in The Dalles Oregon. They were so good I went back and got more. Wish I had purchased a case or two.

  6. Arvind Jaiswal
    July 21, 2014

    Nice information provided about readymade food available to eat now-a-days in India. I want to share my experience here as I like to buy online all the ready to eat food items from one of my favorite online shopping site. Get more info on http://www.tradus.com/pulses-spices-grocery-instant-processed-food-ready-to-eat/t/12333.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 18, 2009 by in Cuisine, Indian, Quick, Ready-to-eat, Vegetarian and tagged , , , .

Categories

