One Stop Eats

healthy food. recipes. reviews.

Spinach Feta Bread

I have to admit I’ve always thought of baking bread from scratch as a very complicated thing to do. I’m not talking about the sweet breads, they are easy, but the savory ones with yeast et all…..oooh! too much! That and the fact that most of them call for eggs, has seen me avoiding the process for years. But after the husband made some Barley bread (sorry, it was so good that we ate it all and didn’t take a picture…. next time for sure) ….. I was tempted to try baking some too. But was too nervous to come up with my own proportions and secret sauces and what not. So, I tried this recipe out by Chuck from cookingbread.com and boy! was it a successful first try. Made some tomato soup to go along and it was a combination to die for.

Here’s the recipe: http://www.cookingbread.com/classes/class_spinach_feta_bread.html

I like this recipe, especially coz it lists all the steps in wonderful detail and is vegetarian. Perfect for a picky person like me! Not only that it makes a bread with the best texture and flavor. Tastes great with just a dab of butter, or with soup, or as sandwich bread, or even with very little peanut butter….. besides, the house smells heavenly!

Spinach Feta Bread

Spinach Feta Bread

My notes:

  • I baked two loaves, one with frozen and one with fresh spinach. The latter was definitely way better.
  • The salt was a little less for me. Next time I’ll add 2 teaspoons.
  • No eggs! Yayyyyy!!
  • I agree this bread takes almost 24 hours from start to end, but what a fine final product.
  • Enjoy!

Thanks to Chuck of cookingbread.com for this recipe.

3 comments on “Spinach Feta Bread

  1. trupti
    July 4, 2009

    That is a delicious loaf right there…..looks really good!

    • Meenakshi Matai
      July 4, 2009

      Thanks Trupti! You’ve got to try it!!! It tastes better than it looks. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Spinach Soup « One Stop Eats

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 3, 2009 by in American, Breads, Cuisine, Recipes, Snack, Vegetarian and tagged , , .

Categories

