One Stop Eats

healthy food. recipes. reviews.

Plantain Chocolate Magic (Plantains wrapped in Chocolate Tortillas)

On my recent visit to the Farmers Market, I was intrigued by one product they had for sale. I saw it and I felt like it was calling out to me…. Buy meeeeeeeee! I’m goooooooood! Buy mmeeeee!!! Heheheh! πŸ™‚ ……. So, I gave in and walked out, along with other locally grown fruits and vegetables, with some locally made Chocolate Tortillas!!!!…… Yeah, you heard that right….. now you know why I couldn’t resist.

As I was driving home, I kept thinking of a thousand different ways I could use them….. make chips out of them, crush and sprinkle on icecream, make a real spicy taco filling to go along…… but I rejected all of those, coz I knew I had to use them as a star ingredient in a dessert. And then from no where, a light bulb went on….. I thought plantain….. I thought chocolate….Β  I thought coconut…. mmmmm! I thought delicious…. I thought magic! That’s why I like to call these Plantain Chocolate Magic πŸ™‚

Here’s how you make this comfort food…….

Plantains wrapped in Chocolate Tortillas

Plantains wrapped in Chocolate Tortillas

Plantain Chocolate Magic (Plantains wrapped in Chocolate Tortillas)

Ingredients to Serve 2

  • 1 Chocolate Tortilla
  • 1 ripe, but not very ripe, plantain
  • 1 tablespoon peanut butter or sunflower seed butter (even better)
  • 1 tablespoon dried coconut flakes
  • 1 tablespoon raw brown sugar
  • your favorite chocolate sauce (I used dark), as much as you’d like πŸ™‚

Peel the plantain and cut in half. Rub some raw sugar on it. Place the plantain on cookie sheet and sprinkle all the sugar on it.

Bake on 350 for about 20 to 25 minutes. The time will vary a lot depending on how ripe the plantain is. You want to bake it until it’s soft, but not mushy.

In the mean time, lets get the chocolaty goodness ready. Heat the tortilla just a little bit to make sure it’s soft and rollable. Lay your tortilla flat on a plate and spread all peanut butter. I can bet this itself tastes amazing.

Sprinkle the coconut flakes all over and follow up with some chocolate sauce. Mmmm!

Once the plantain is done, let it cool. Just a little warm is perfect.

Now here’s my secret method…… pick up the plantain with the cut side facing up and squeeze it just a little. You’ll see all these little craters and fissures open…. like in the picture above. Drip some (or a lot) chocolate sauce in there. Repeat on the other half of the plantain too.

Align the two halves of the plantain in the middle of the tortilla and roll it up good and tight. Once it’s rolled, cut through the middle. Looks good! Yeah! …. Take a bite….! Tastes good too! πŸ™‚

If you can resist digging in, then top it with some chocolate sauce and coconut flakes.

Note:

  • If you want to try making this with a banana, skip the baking and it’s a quick delicious dessert.
  • Peanut butter won’t do? Try sunflower seed butter. I actually think it’s a better butter.
One comment on “Plantain Chocolate Magic (Plantains wrapped in Chocolate Tortillas)

  1. Amitabh Ghoshal
    July 16, 2009

    I want this when I visit! (without the coconut stuff) πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 8, 2009 by in American, Cuisine, Desserts, Recipes, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , .

Categories

