One Stop Eats

healthy food. recipes. reviews.

Avocado Butter

Avocado butter on homemade bread

Avocado butter on homemade bread

This is my first Alton Brown recipe, and it turned out pretty well. It tastes good and keeps for months, resulting in the wonderful advantage of not having to find just-ripe avocados every time you want the flavor. If you need any added incentive, it’s really easy to make! The butter goes well just on plain bread, or as sandwich spread, or burgers, or anything else you want to put it on!

The only thing you absolutely must remember is not to use under-ripe avocados. Really. I can hear you saying “I’ll see. It’ll be allright.” Don’t do it. I did, and it took much much longer and was more painful than I imagined when I had the aforementioned thoughts.

Ingredients

  • 2 small Haas avocados
  • 2 oz. (4 tbsp.) butter, softened
  • 1 tbsp. freshly squeezed lemon juice. I used the stuff that comes in a bottle.
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp. freshly chopped cilantro leaves. I didn’t have it.
  • 2 1 tsp. ground cumin. I used 2, but I think it will taste better with less cumin.
  • Kosher salt
  • freshly ground black pepper
Butter wrapped in parchment

Butter wrapped in parchment

Cut the avocados in half, de-seed, and scoop out the flesh as described before. Put the avocado flesh and the rest of the ingredients into a food processor or blender, and mix till the stuff reaches a smooth consistency. Then spoon the mixture out on parchment in the form of a log, fold the paper over, compact, and twist the ends like a toffee (see picture). Put in the fridge for 3-4 hours, and you’re done.

As you can see, I am ad-libbing with the spices, so do not hesitate to experiment yourself! (And remember to let us know how it turns out.)

Enjoy!

4 comments on “Avocado Butter

  1. shanu
    January 25, 2010

    This is awesome and mouthwatering. Do visit my blog when time permits.http://shanthisthaligai.blogspot.com/

  2. Spice Sherpa
    February 5, 2010

    Avocodos are the best! I always need to buy at least one more than a recipe calls for because I grab some artisan salt, sprinkle it on and gobble it up before it makes it to the recipe. This recipe reminds me of guacamole but minus the salso components.

    Thanks for sharing!

    • Amitabh Ghoshal
      February 7, 2010

      Thanks for the comment. Yesterday I had avocado tacos – and they were ridiculously good! try it sometime: sliced avocados, chopped (white) onions, chopped cerano peppers, lime juice, and salt. Mmmm mmmmm good!

  3. Karina
    March 15, 2010

    I love the idea of avocado butter. Actually, anything with avocado gets my attention. Sounds fab!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 25, 2009 by in Cooking tips, Extra healthy, Quick, Recipes, Snack, Vegetarian and tagged , .

Categories

